October 25, 2014, 05:21:08 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Project: Re-Outfit Used Popup for 1500 lb. Towing Restriction.  (Read 8789 times)
OneMoreDay
Chocks-a-lot

Writer, teacher, mother, and wife...

« on: February 16, 2010, 06:20:20 PM »

Family of four, limited budget ($2000 total). Mission: Buy a used popup tent camper, tear out the heavy stuff, replace with new lightweight fittings in order to fit under the 1500 lb. limit of a 4-cylinder RAV4 with 2" hitch (already installed). (But it has to be cozy!)

Can two months of summer camping and togetherness save this family ($2000 won't include summer expenses, only cost of outfitting the camper)? I hope so. I'm betting on it. I'm the Mom. I'm a teacher; husband's unemployed now and is handy with electrical, plumbing, carpentry. Two girls, 14 and 10. It's been a rough couple of years, and we need a break; we're planning a two month trip this summer from Florida to the wondrous National Parks of the Rocky Mountains. At 50, I've never seen the Grand Canyon in person, and we want to experience the thrills of nature from Arizona to Montana.

Care to follow along? I need to start with a great lightweight trailer with very good canvas.