October 21, 2014, 08:45:28 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Coleman Mesa...Good first popup?  (Read 27970 times)
Damn_Yankee
Kindlin' Collector

« on: May 26, 2009, 01:47:03 PM »

Hello all. I am new to popups, well, new to family camping actually. I am cruising CL and have seen a couple interesting pups. There is a 2000 Coleman Mesa listed in great condition for $3750.00. Is this a good price and is there anything I should know about this model to look out for.
I am also open to suggestions on a good first pup model.
mountainrev
Back-er-in-er

Eagle, CO

« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2009, 02:22:59 PM »

Welcome to PUX!  The thing to watch for with Fleetwood/Colemans of that vintage is the ABS roof.  This one-piece plastic roof failed in a small but significant percentage of cases.  It's possible that it's already been replaced under warranty, or that it's one of many that's just fine.  However, it's also possible that it is showing signs of failing (buckling, delaminating, etc.).  If that's the case, stay away.  They are very expensive to replace.

Ask specifically about the roof condition and ask for photos.  Inspect it carefully. 

As far as the price, assuming that the roof is o.k., and the rest of the camper is in good condition, that's probably not a bad price, but also not necessarily a bargain.  Location has a lot to do with camper prices.  What are other campers going for in your neck of the woods?  Shop carefully.

Finally, before you consider buying anything, find out exactly what your vehicle can safely tow.  That fact may well dictate exactly what you can or can't purchase. 

"I lift up my eyes to the hills."
'03 Viking 2270 Legend
'04 Dodge Durango
camperdude
Handle Cranker

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2009, 02:53:53 PM »