July 31, 2014, 11:34:41 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Advice on buying used 2008 Fleetwood Bayside  (Read 6752 times)
Mustang
Back-er-in-er

« on: April 30, 2009, 12:57:33 PM »

My sister is considering buying a used 2008 Bayside and has asked my opinion. I've had a pup for 10 years and have been active with these boards and some local camping clubs. She knows I have a lot of knowledge with these things, but I want to get some other opinions as well. I'm a little biased...I really want her to get a pup so we can camp year 'round with her. Basically, this is a floorplan and size she likes. Her main concern was with price and what her not being an original owner will do to the various warranties.

I'd love to hear what some of you have to say about buying a used 2008 Bayside (options include roof-mount Yakima bike rack, awning, 2 batteries, 2 propane tanks, and all the usual comfort features inside) for about $10,000.

Thanks!

Loretta
DH-Mike
DD-93, CSULB
DS-96
"Bodega" the camping Cattle Dog
1999 Coleman Sun Valley
2000 Ford Expedition   PopUp Green SUV Green
SDROCKET
Back-er-in-er

« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2009, 01:42:18 PM »

I might offer a little lower if I were her, but used campers are going pretty strong, so it's hard to say in your area what would be a good price. 

As far as the warranty is concerned, if she isn't buying new, there are no warranties.  You can however get a reasonable price on an extended service contract to cover all of the major apliances, and some also cover lift system problems, and vacation compensation if there is a problem, (good luck getting a warranty to cover that in most cases).